high on fire burning
high on fire burning

High on Fire releases video for 'Burning Down

Cometh the Storm album to be released on April 19th via MNRK Heavy

The iconic GRAMMY-winning American rock band, High on Fire, have released a video for their new single 'Burning Down', taken from their forthcoming full-length album Cometh the Storm, due for release on April 19 via MNRK Heavy.

Watch the video for 'Burning Down' here:

Pre-order/save Cometh the Storm from High on Fire here

The video for 'Burning Down' was captured live and on location in GodCity by Jason Zucco during the recording of Cometh the Storm. Parts of the footage feature direct takes from the album's recording sessions, including Matt Pike's fervent vocals.

The release of the video for 'Burning Down' follows the release of a haunted fever dream visualizer for the powerful song, created by Lars Kristoffer Hormander. Try High on Fire's 'Burning Down' visualizer [here].

?'Burning Down' starts with a classic Pike riff,? says Jeff Matz. I think this song harks back to the early High on Fire sound, but infused with new and fresh elements. It has a killer groove that you can really get into. The body of the song took shape in our rehearsal space in the PNW, and we created the bridge/solo section and finalized the arrangement while in GodCity. Kurt Ballou's contribution as producer was also a great help. His attentive ears and fresh perspective were invaluable in the creation of this album.?

High On Fire - Burning Down

The GRAMMY-winning group, celebrating their 25th anniversary, recorded Cometh the Storm at GodCity Studio in Salem, Massachusetts, with producer Kurt Ballou. The 11-song effort - the band's ninth studio album - marks the release of High on Fire's first new music since Electric Messiah in 2018 and the first to feature drummer Coady Willis (Big Business, Murder City Devils) alongside bassist Jeff Matz and guitarist/vocalist Matt Pike.

It's been more than five years since the band's revered Electric Messiah earned High on Fire the 'Best Metal Performance' at the 2018 Grammy Awards, placing the band among groups like Black Sabbath, Motörhead and Metallica as winners of the prestigious prize. ?Being nominated for a Grammy was quite surprising, but winning one was truly surreal,? says bassist Jeff Matz. Winning a Grammy certainly wasn't something we were aiming for, but it's a great honor to be recognized in this way, and we're grateful. In terms of how it's affected us, it's definitely opened some new doors - we've gained new fans and wider recognition, but it hasn't changed how we approach our art. We've always tried to create uncompromising music that makes us feel good and is in line with what we'd like to hear.

In the half decade since the band's Grammy nomination, the world has changed dramatically and is a different place. The same can be said of High on Fire. The band's musical archetype has been modified, transformed and evolved; its radius of impact has been expanded. Bassist Jeff Matz joined Mutoid Man and traveled abroad to study and learn the techniques of Middle Eastern folk music and the plucked string instrument, the ba?lama (or saz), Matt Pike formed a solo band, released an LP and toured the US, and renowned percussionist Coady Willis, from the Melvins, Big Business and Murder City Devils, joined Pike and Matz to breathe new life into the group a quarter of a century after the start of their captivating career.

The lead track on High on Fire's new album, Cometh the Storm, is the rousing 'Burning Down', a vigorous attack that exemplifies the power that the union of three professional musicians possesses.

Universally recognized as one of the most potent acts in music today, High on Fire create dynamic metal that blends primal fury and aggression, hesher bombast and Hall of Fame heaviness. Described as "a supersonic exercise in volume conquest," High on Fire have rewritten the hard rock rulebook since their formation in 1998, forging a style and sound that is both critically celebrated and unique. The group features vocalist and guitar cult hero Matt Pike (also a founding member of the famous underground band SLEEP), singular bassist Jeff Matz and powerful drummer Coady Willis.

High on Fire Online:


  • 1. Lambsbread (5:45)
  • 2. Burning Down (6:13)
  • 3. Trismegistus (5:36)
  • 4. Cometh The Storm (6:12)
  • 5. Karanl?k Yol (3:46)
  • 6. Sol?s Golden Curse (4:52)
  • 7. The Beating (2:29)
  • 8. Tough Guy (3:44)
  • 9. Lightning Beard (3:33)
  • 10. Hunting Shadows (5:40)
  • 11. Darker Fleece (9:59)

High on Fire Tour

High on Fire recently announced new tour dates in the EU and UK for this summer.

high on fire tour
  • Jun 04: CZ Brno Kabinet MUZ
  • Jun 10: DE Hamburg Bahnhof Pauli
  • Jun 11: DE Cologne Gebäude 9
  • Jun 12: NL Nijmegen Doornroosje
  • Jun 14: UK London Islington Assembly Hall
  • Jun 15: UK Manchester Rebellion
  • Jun 16: UK Glasgow Slay
  • Jun 17: UK Leeds Brudenell Social Club
  • Jun 18: UK Bristol Thekla
  • Jun 20: FR Wasquehal The Black Lab
  • Jun 25: FR Toulouse Le Metronum
  • Jun 26: ES Bilbao Kafe Antzokia
  • Jul 02: DE Aschaffenburg Colos Saal
  • Jul 03: CH Dudingen Bad Bonn
  • Jul 04: IT Torino Ziggy
  • Jul 06: AT Vienna Arena

Get our weekly summary on your email!

We'll send a weekly email with the most recent posts from our website directly into your inbox, so you don't miss anything!

We don't SPAM, check our Privacy Policy for more info!

heidenvolk 4

Artists: High on Fire