Marisa And The Moths Release Video For 'Just Like Me' From The Album What Doesn't Kill You

Grunge rockers Marisa And The Moths have released a video for their new single 'Just Like Me', ahead of their second album What Doesn't Kill Youlaunched on May 3rd.

In frontperson Marisa's view: I wanted to create a video for this song that represented how it feels to me, which is stormy, chaotic and emotionally explosive. The solo performance of the song was decided as a way of not overcomplicating it and letting the music speak for itself, as the song already has many layers. To keep the visuals interesting, we played around with angles, crystals and even a broken mirror, which really helped to portray a sense of 'distorted reality', which contributed to conveying the meaning of the song?

The new track is an introspective journey through the intricate parallels within ourselves and society, wrapped in an enveloping alternative rock soundscape reminiscent of Deftones and underlined by the vocal dexterity echoing Jeff Buckley's vulnerability and power.

Talking about the single, Marisa shares: For me, this music is like a Christopher Nolan movie playing in the shadows of my mind. It seems familiar and infinite, like a stormy fractal landscape where patterns repeat themselves endlessly. Like some kind of beautiful nightmare. It embodies a multitude of emotions and viewpoints of the human condition and our self-destructive nature, but although the overall meaning is something I feel is relative, it's still definitely open to interpretation?

marisa and the moths band promo

Written during Covid lockdowns while Marisa was personally healing from an abusive relationship, 'Just Like Me' offers a narrative of internal conflict, delving into the depths of insecurity and anxiety when viewed from an individual perspective. However, when viewed through the wider lens of humanity, it emerges as a moving reflection of our collective struggles. Marisa's lyrics serve as a reminder of our innate capacity for self-destruction, urging us to confront our flaws and fight for a better future for all.

Pre-order What Doesn't Kill You here.

Marisa And The Moths will be touring with the album on a series of key dates, as follows:

  • May 02: Reading Sub 89
  • May 03: Cardiff The Globe
  • May 04: Southampton The Loft
  • May 10: Manchester Star and Garter
  • May 11: Nottingham Rock City Beta
  • May 12th: London Underworld
  • June 07: Leeds Brudenell Social Club
  • June 08: Newcastle Grove

Tickets at:


Receive a weekly summary in your e-mail!

Every week a summary of all our posts straight to your inbox!

We don't spam! Read our privacy policy for more information.

heidenvolk 4